levee, dyke, embankment
I'm often told (by Brits) that Americans are prudes when it comes to language. And I can often demonstrate the error or hypocrisy in their claim. Tidbit/titbit is one I've covered here so far. Another one is levee , which an Englishman informed me is used because Americans don’t want to say (AmE) dike / ( BrE) dyke for a built-up bank to prevent the overflow of water. So let me count out my objections to his claim: 1. Levee has been used in North America since the 18th century. (Orig. AmE) dyke has only been (slang (or a hyponym ) for 'lesbian' since the 20th century. So, Americans definitely didn't start saying levee to avoid association with lesbians. 2. If you're an American like me, you primarily know levee from Don McLean's song American Pie , where it is a convenient rhyme for Chevy . (This is at the top of the 'Lynne's most hated songs' list. I hope I haven't earwormed you with it. My day is ruined.) I think of it as a Louisian...